Farewell to Fall

Thanksgiving was sunny with a light autumn chill to the air. Three days later though, the cold has set in and the leaves have dutifully shed another layer of leaves. Winter is upon us. I spent the day cooking, just like most everyone else I imagine on Thanksgiving, making She Crab Soup and Garlic Mashed Potatoes. My favorite thing I made that day though was Apple Pie Cupcakes with Salted Caramel Buttercream Frosting. They were an apple spice cake filled with apple pie filling and topped with salted caramel buttercream with a salted caramel drizzle.

There were a couple of exciting things about this. First, I got a new toy. A friend of mine found a “cupcake plunger,” as I would like to call it, brand new and packaged at a yard sale for just a couple dollars. I was stoked to use this.

This made scooping out the middle of my cupcakes a breeze and very uniform. These are the things that make a  perfectionist happy.

The other exciting thing about this was that I got to make salted caramel for the first time, which was an exciting science experiment that turned out more delicious than anything you could buy at the store. Cheap too. I found my salted caramel recipe on Pinterest. Where else?

http://kimberlytaylorimages.com/chocolate-cake-with-salted-caramel-frosting/

I did not use her frosting recipe, although I am sure it is delicious. I literally just combined buttercream with salted caramel. The cupcakes are my own concoction, and while good I think they could be improved on.

When you take a bite of these first you get the hint of cinnamon and allspice from the cake followed by a sour tinge from the granny smith apple pie filling and finished with a sweet and nutty flavor from the salted caramel buttercream. Until next year, farewell fall!

One thought on “Farewell to Fall

Leave a Reply

