Super Hero Cupcakes

I was asked to make Green Lantern and Flash inspired cupcakes for a Big Bang Theory themed 30th birthday party. In case you’re not familiar with the show The Bing Bang Theory, as I am not, Flash is the character Sheldon’s favorite super hero. I have no idea where the Green Lantern fits in to the show, but I do know Ryan Reynolds looks pretty good in the Green Lantern suit. That is the extent of my knowledge on The Big Bang Theory, Flash and The Green Lantern. I’m a Batman fan.

I was given a picture of Flash and Green Lantern sugar cookies as a guide, and I think they turned out to be great cupcakes as well.

The Flash cupcakes were a lemon cupcake with lemon meringue buttercream and adorned with a Flash inspired fondant top. The Green Lantern cupcakes were a chocolate cupcake with chocolate buttercream and adorned with a Green Lantern inspired fondant top.

In case you are not familiar, fondant is that stuff on wedding cake that many people peel off of the cake and leave on their plate like a discarded banana peel. It tastes a lot like stale marshmallows. I generally do not eat it. However, many people do seem to like it, and from my perspective it’s a lot of fun to work with. Think edible play dough.

The fondant top for the Green Lantern cupcakes were time consuming and required me to think about geometry for the first time in I don’t know how long. Those two shapes that make up the top and bottom of the “lantern” are trapezoids. I’m certain that I spent a fair amount of time wondering in middle school geometry when I would ever use the information provided there. It only took me 17 years to discover it. I would have taken pictures for you of each step in the process, but honestly I was too busy figuring out the right tool for the right proportions.

It turns out the best tool for making that outer green shell was this:

Before anyone gets concerned and runs out to buy me baking supplies for Christmas (hint hint), I do in fact own fondant cutters that worked fabulously for all of the inner circles. However, you’ll notice I needed four circular cutters and I only have three. I realized this late in the game, and ended up throwing out a fair amount of fondant and starting over. I never would have suspected that counting was going to give me more trouble during this project than geometry.

I was able to do the Flash fondant tops in a… flash. Get it? I’m allowed one corny joke per blog post. The only detailed portion was the lightning bolt. I made a lightning bolt stencil out of cardboard so that they would all be relatively uniform, and cut them out by hand.

Pictures from the party were shared with me. It looks like they fit in nicely with the theme, and I hope they made this surprise 30th birthday party that much more special!

 

 

Leave a Reply

